ADAVB and BOQ Specialist announce 2021 recipients of CPD bursaries

dental bursaries
Dr Thivagar Nirmalann

Victorian based dentists, Dr Evangeline Alphonse and Dr Thivagar Nirmalann, have been announced as the recipients of the 2021 Australian Dental Association Victorian Branch (ADAVB) and BOQ Specialist Bursaries. 

Dr Alphonse from Berwick Dental Clinic and Surgery has been awarded the Recent Graduate Bursary and will receive $5000 to be applied towards ADAVB Continued Professional Development (CPD) courses. 

Dr Nirmalann and his team from Balnarring Dental Care have been awarded the Practice Bursary and will receive $8000 to be applied to CPD and training programs and $2000 to be applied to ADAVB CPD courses. 

Now in its seventh consecutive year, the ADAVB and BOQ Specialist bursary program provides recognition to both dental practices and recent dental graduates that demonstrate a commitment to excellence and to quality learning, by providing funding to support further professional development. 

University of Sydney graduate, Dr Alphonse, said that she was honoured to receive the bursary and feels a deep sense of gratitude for those who have helped contribute to her career. 

“As someone who is heavily involved in community projects and pro bono work, it is an honour to be acknowledged by those in my industry,” Dr Alphonse said.

“This bursary validates the work we do here at Berwick Dental Clinic and Surgery, and motivates me to continue working hard for our community members.” 

dental bursaries
Dr Evangeline Alphonse

Owner of Balnarring Dental Care, Dr Nirmalann, said that he and his team were ecstatic and humbled to be the recipients of this year’s bursary, after what has been a very challenging period for all businesses. 

“It has been a long and hard two years, so being awarded the bursary has reinvigorated us to push forward with newfound enthusiasm,” Dr Nirmalann said.

“We have always been a clinic that values dental education, CPD, and being at the forefront of evidence-based dentistry and the bursary will support us in realising this.” 

ADAVB President Dr Jeremy Sternson said: “Dr Alphonse and Dr Nirmalann both illustrate a deep commitment to helping their patients and the wider community. Their drive to further enrich and develop their dental teams will ultimately lead to better care for their patients and their respective communities. 

“Together with BOQ Specialist, we are very proud to announce Dr Alphonse and Dr Nirmalann as the 2021 bursary recipients.”

Previous articleStudy shows parent praise might encourage children to persist with teeth brushing
Next articleMystery of children’s ‘chalky teeth’ explained


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here